Fifth Offense OUI
Facing criminal charges of any kind is a serious matter, but with the implementation of Melanie’s Law in 2005, Massachusetts has sought to impose heavy fines and penalties for those charged with multiple OUI offenses. Recognizing the seriousness of your charge and the penalties attached to it will enable you and your attorney to present the most aggressive legal defense to your OUI charge. A fifth offense OUI in Massachusetts is punishable by:
• Fines: $20,000 to $50,000
• Incarceration: Minimum: 2.5 years, Maximum: Five years
• Driver’s License: Lifetime revocation without the possibility of hardship license
• Additionally, the Registry of Motor Vehicles may seek to cancel your vehicle’s registration plates for the duration of the license suspension
• The District Attorney’s Office may also seek the forfeiture of your vehicle.
Only a Massachusetts criminal defense attorney who is well versed in the area of OUI law will be able to explain your legal rights and help you navigate through the complex and stressful situation with which you are faced. The consequences of a felony conviction are life altering; a felony on your record may lead to your exclusion from job and educational opportunities, a significant debt to the court, as well as other negative repercussions. Attorney Murphy has successfully represented clients in Massachusetts for 18 years and possesses the knowledge and training to help you. For additional information, please contact the Law Office of Patrick J. Murphy today for a free and confidential legal consultation by calling 617-367-0450 or completing the contacts tab on our website.